Dr. Sudhansu S. Bhattacharyya
Department of Cardiovascular & Thoracic Surgery
M.S.(Gen.Surg.), M.Ch (Thoracic Surgery), F.I.A.C.S.


Dr. Bhattacharya has been associated with Lilavati Hospital since 1997.

He has handled over 15,000 cases in his career.

Dr. Bhattacharya has completed a Fellowship from Milwaukee Heart Surgery Associates under Dr. Dudley Johnson (1979-1980).

Awards and Recognition

  • Ex-President – Indian Association of Cardiovascular & Thoracic Surgeons (2003 – 2004)
  • Outstanding Citizen of Bombay by the North Bombay Jr. Chamber (1989)
  • Award for being the highest Tax payer during the Assessment year 1994-1998-99 by Rashtriya Sanman
  • Award from Indian Medical Association for significant contribution in the field of Medical Sciences (2006)
  • Personality of the Decade Award by K.G.Foundation Centre of Excellence (2007)
  • Lions Favourite Doctor -13th Lions Gold Award (2007)
  • Rotary Excellence Award for “Iconic Families of India (2011)
  • Inducted into the Arch Klumph Society by Rotary International, U.S.A.for being a magnanimous donor (2012)
  • Lifetime Achievement Award from the Indian Association of Cardiovascular & Thoracic Surgeons (2013)
  • Parmath Ratna Award by Parmath Seva Samiti (2014)
  • Rotary Club of Bombay North for invaluable contribution & exemplary service to community (2014)
  • Award from the National Sports Club of India (2015)
  • Award from the Rotary Clubs of Thane (ARCOT) (2015)
  • Dhanvantari Award 2015 from the Dhanvantari Medical Foundation in (2016)
  • 2002 - “P.K. Sen Endowment Lecture” by The Indian Association of Cardiovascular & Thoracic Surgeons – India. This award is given only to those who have made original contribution in CABG. His contribution of LIMA-RIMA ‘Y’ graft is universally acclaimed and hence I was the recipient of this prestigious award.
  • 2007 – Named as P.K. Sen Memorial Orator of the year 2007 in deep appreciation of his distinguished work and achievement in the field of Cardiac Surgery

Research Publications

  • 1995 – Uma Rani Banerji Memorial Oration, Cardiology Society of India, Lucknow
  • 2000 – Delivered a prestigious P.K. Sen Endowment Lecture – Indian Association of Cardiovascular & Thoracic Surgeons , Millenium 2000 Conference – Mumbai
  • 2002 – “Presidential Address” in CTCME
  • 2008 - Dr. K.G. Deshpande Memorial Oration Cardiology Society of India, Vidarbha Nagpur
  • 2010 – Solomon Victor Memorial Oration, Indian Association of Cardiovascular & Thoracic Surgeons, Mumbai. My novel technique of LIMA-RIMA ‘Y’ graft enabled me to earn this award.
  • 2014 - Dr. Nitu Mandke Foundation LIMA – RIMA “Y” Coronary Revascularisation
  • 2015 - Dr. Ivan Pinto Oration, Seth G.S. Medical College & K.E.M.Hospital – “Total Arterial Revascularisation using LIMA-RIMA “Y”Graft – Aorta Free”
  • 2015 - Dr. V.N. Panse Oration, Lokmanya Tilak Municipal Medical College, Mumbai